The College of Life Science consists of 5 departments: Department of Bioscience and Technology, Department of Biochemistry and Pharmacy Engineering, Department of Ecology and Environment, Department of Agrostology, and Department of Food Nutrition and Safety. The College offers out 7 undergraduate programs: Biotechnology, Bioscience, Pharmacy Engineering, Agricultural Resources and Environment, Ecology, Agrostology and Food Quality and Safety. Moreover, it has 9 postgraduate units authorized to confer Masters degree in the following areas: Microbiology, Food Science and Engineering, Botany, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Microorganism and Biochemical Pharmacy, Environmental Science, Pedology and Plant Nutrition.

The College has enrolled 1,266 undergraduates and 310 postgraduates. It has 115 faculty members, with 16 professors and 36 associate professors.

Aiming at cultivating high-quality personnel with creative minds and practical skills, the College attaches great weight to the development of undergraduate programs and cultivation of postgraduates. It

strives to form an education model of wide scope, sound grounding and high proficiency and pays attention to the research and reform of teaching. As for academic achievements, the College has won 1 second prize of the Teaching Achievements of Higher Education issued by the Education Ministry, 1 second prize of the National Teaching Reform Achievements Award, 1 first prize of the Teaching Reform Achievements Award, 5 second prizes of the Provincial Award for Teaching Achievements of Higher Education and 3 first prizes of the Provincial Teaching Achievements of Higher Education,. For many years, the College has supplied society with numerous high-level professional personnel with a solid academic foundation, broad scope of knowledge, good intellectual aptitude, strong practical capability and initiative spirit.

The College, laying the greatest emphasis on course development, has attracted a large number of talented personnel of teaching and scientific research, and thus laid a sound foundation for its development. Now it has 2 Provincial Key Disciplinary Areas: Science of Microorganism and Phytophysidogy and Biochemistry, and 8 research institutes: Institute of Biochemical Nutrition, Institute of Caterpillar Fungus Resources, Institute of Environment and Resources, Institute of Stony Desertification, Institute of Grass Science, Institute of Food Resources Development and Utilization, and Institute of Water Resources. The College and the Provincial Key Laboratory of Agricultural Bioengineering, a lab affiliated with the University, have jointly provided the platform of biological technology. Thus, it has strengthened the disciplinar